Skip navigation

Later, back at the ranch…

I went back to Quissamã for the last day of this multi-day festa, to see what happened in a small town on this Mardi Gras. When the bus pulled into town, after an all-too-familiar ride, it rolled to a stop in a decorated but otherwise deserted town. I thought, Waaait…I left Rio de Janeiro for this?!?. Resigned, I caught a ride to the beach to meet up with my friend and settle in. To my relief, that’s where everyone was, enjoying moving music from the trio elétrico moving down the street. I smiled. It was nice, after all, to be “home.”

That night, we witnessed the “Boi Malhadinho” parade, in which four competing groups parade down the passarela of main street, prancing around in a large bull costume, playing percussion and dancing while the group’s song leader sang (over and over), their samba-esque tune. Open-air party, loud music, confetti…I loved it. Happy Carnaval!!

Local kids survey the bespeckled street, waiting for the next Boi Malhadinho to pass by.

This isn’t an ordinary bull…notice the size 11 shoes it wears…Also, it’s not every day that a large beast is followed by a percussion group, samba dancers, and a carro de som, carrying the tune of this Boi Malhadinho.

Leave a comment